IBM Watson: Beyond Jeopardy!

  • 4 years ago

This event is over. Contact Us for more information.

If you haven’t already done so, register TODAY to attend the next free ACM Webcast, “IBM Watson: Beyond Jeopardy!”, presented on Thursday, June 13, 2013, at 1 PM ET (12 noon CT/11 AM MT/10 AM PT/5 PM GMT), part of the ACM Learning Webinar series. Join Adam Lally, member of the DeepQA project that built the Watson question answering system, which won the now-famous Jeopady! Man vs. Machine Challenge, and moderator Will Tracz, Lockheed Martin Fellow Emeritus and Chair of ACM SIGSOFT (the ACM Special Interest Group on Software Engineering). The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session. (If you’d like to attend but can’t make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available.)

(Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.)

In 2011, IBM introduced Watson, a computer system capable of quickly and precisely answering natural language questions with accurate confidence estimation. Watson was victorious against the world’s best Jeopardy! players in a formal contest that was aired on national television. Watson’s public performance heralds a future where we can efficiently tap into the wealth of knowledge buried in text and other unstructured data sources. IBM is now exploring new applications of the Watson technology including clinical decision support in healthcare.

What You’ll Learn About:
Architecture of the Watson Question Answering System
Using the Apache UIMA framework for building natural language processing systems
New challenges for Watson in the healthcare domain, and how IBM is addressing them
Duration: 60 minutes

Presenter:
Adam Lally, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
Adam Lally is a Senior Technical Staff Member in the Watson Technologies department at IBM’s T. J. Watson Research Center. Adam is an experienced systems architect and software developer. As an original member of the DeepQA project, he helped develop the Watson system architecture that gave the machine its speed. He also worked on the natural language processing algorithms that enable Watson to understand questions and categories and gather and assess evidence in natural language. Before working on Watson he was the lead software engineer for the Unstructured Information Management Architecture (UIMA) project, an open source platform for creating, integrating, and deploying unstructured information management solutions.

Site Features

The Bulletin

You'll find lots of interesting posts, articles and information on the Bulletin. This is also the place to look for breaking news and any new job postings.

Chapter Events

The Events page is the go to place for all information regarding upcoming workshops, contests and socials. Check out the calendar and sync it with yours.

Job Postings

Let's get that job! Any available internships and new jobs will be posted here. If you're an employer that wants to be listed contact us.

Docs and Resources

Review all chapter documents including our constitution. Also look here for useful resources like course syllabi, previous contest questions and etc.